top of page

music// Punk Rock Bowling 2015


Punk Rock Bowling 2015, May 22nd-25th…the weekend began Friday morning in a

fucking downpour of rain. I thought, “Great start to my weekend.” I packed my photo

gear, shoved my cooler full of booze, ice and truck snacks, and away I went. I landed

in Vegas a few hours later in downtown Fremont at the Plaza Hotel. I checked in and

then I checked out for a few hours.

I caught the first club show at the Bunk House to watch Me First and the Gimme

Gimmes, opened up by the All Brights and Manic Hispanic, with Steve Soto handing

out a short but electric acoustic set. The All Brights are surfing, tacos, punk rock and

the Beach Boys, and it sounds great! Manic Hispanic comes through with some

cholo inspired versions of classic punk songs. I even got a version of the Souls’ True

Believers sprinkled in for good measure. Spike and the boys put out a great set even

without Fat Mike but they crooned their way through some of their best covers.

Saturday saw me at the Festival show with stand out acts like Sniper 66, Anti-Flag,

Bosstones and of course Rancid. Anti-Flag got the crowd going with their socio-

political 3 cord protests. The Bosstones brought the groove with some funky

hardcore ska-punk-plaid sing-alongs. Rancid was a bit of a blur quite honestly. They

played their hearts out and I sang along like an automaton.

Sunday was littered with overcast weather and even some rain. The standouts for

Sunday were the Murder City Devils, and the Refused. Wilhelm Scream reminded me

a lot of Hot Water Music and The Lawrence Arms, not a bad thing at all. Turbonegro

was not a stand out as a band but rather as a spectacle. They all looked like some

cartoon character from a Tom of Finland comic. Murder City Devils, I feel are as tight

nit as they have been in years. The new material sounds and holds up great! The

Refused Are Fucking Dead…Long Live The Refused. Their music is infectious. I

caught myself moving and shaking the whole set. Dennis as lead vocalist has

amazing stage presence and hasn’t missed a step. They looked energized and

rejuvenated! They killed it!

I missed Monday’s show and instead displayed my patriotism on Memorial Day by

getting home, rushing over to a friends for a BBQ and some beers before I crashed

out for a week with bronchitis. See you next year PRB…

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page