top of page

fashion// Mountainside Jewelry


Tell us a bit about yourself and what you were doing before Mountainside?

I’ve tried out a lot of different jobs in the last few years - everything from waitressing, to bartending in Peru, taking care of rescued wild animals in Bolivia, working at an eco lodge in Sweden, being a kayak tour guide a few places along the California coast, teaching at an outdoor preschool in Big Sur, and I recently got my California State Teaching Credential and helped a friend start an outdoor after school program where we take kids on a new adventure everyday to the beach, the forest, mountains, meadows, swimming holes, etc.

When did you start Mountainside and what motivated you to begin this venture?

I’ve always loved art and DIY projects as well as treasure hunting at antique fairs and yard sales, so it came pretty naturally to start making jewelry out of found objects. I’m kind of a “hustler” in the sense that I am always trying to make a few bucks, so I instantly decided to try to make profits from my hobby of making jewelry. It was around five or six years ago that I really got into jewelry making and repurposing vintage pieces, but about two years ago is when I really got into it and started learning some metal smithing techniques and officially created the Mountainside Jewelry brand.

I love the fact that you use recycled materials. Was this something you stumbled upon or was it a conscious decision?

Using recycled materials has been a really important part of Mountainside Jewelry. I get really sick of this modern day disposable culture where so many items are cheaply mass produced overseas which is not only totally unsustainable, but I also feel like those pieces just have no soul. I’ve been going to yard sales and flea markets with my dad since I was a kid so I also just love the feeling of finding an amazing piece to repurpose at the bottom of a pile of junk and then haggling for a good deal - there’s something very satisfying about it and not to mention the mystery behind where the long lost earring or pendant came from and who once owned it and what it meant to them. The object sentimentality is so appealing to me and I think it gives my jewelry more character in that way. I also try to use recycled metals whenever possible and I order “deadstock” items whenever I can, which means it was a charm or chain that was made in bulk in the 60’s or 70’s and never sold or used.

You noted that you are starting to use wax carving to create new styles. Tell us about that:

Yes, so I made friends with an old jeweler who works in the mountains where I live and basically convinced him to teach me how to carve and cast wax in exchange for my help cleaning up the shop and stuff. It is an extremely frustrating process but so worth it. It’s nice to have the freedom to carve out any design and then either make a mold to create more or have multiple one-of-a-kind designs. The process, of lost wax casting, dates back like 5,000 years, which is pretty incredible. I won’t try to get into all the steps of casting because there are many, but if anyone is interested - I suggest looking it up because it’s really fascinating and hopefully will help people realize the long and laborious process that goes into it.

I also have started to cast a few vintage pieces as well. So many people are melting down vintage jewelry for the gold or silver so I have been making molds of some pieces I find special and many of those have also been incorporated into the Mountainside Jewelry line.

What inspired you and your designs?

I have a lot of energy, and probably ADHD, and idle hands so I find it impossible to sit still and that sort of inspired me to make jewelry since it keeps me focused and I can be doing something while I listen to a podcast or watch a movie or kill time.

The details and textures in nature has always been a big inspiration for me, there’s endless creativity to be found just by looking at a leaf or shells or rock formations and such. Also - primitive, ancient jewelry - I love the imperfections and how you can tell it was made with purpose by hand to be worn as a special amulet and the significance that jewelry once symbolized. Most recently I’ve been inspired by Victorian Era mourning jewelry and have been carving some pieces in that style out of wax. I am also always inspired by the vintage pieces I find, the random beads or a necklace that I immediately want to cut up, take apart, and rebuild.

What would you like our readers to know about your jewelry?

I try to make something for everyone, for all styles. Because of their repurposed nature, many pieces are one of a kind so that also kept it fresh and interesting. I’ve been really bad about reaching out to new shops, signing up for craft fairs and events and even doing Instagram posts, etc… so one of my goals this year is to try to reach out and make Mountainside Jewelry better known. I love making something for a random stranger to wear and cherish. There’s been a few times when I have randomly seen someone wearing something I made and I get really excited and want to high five them, but I try to play it cool. It means a lot to me to hear positive feedback and I really appreciate everyone who has supported me in this endeavor. Follow along on

Instagram: @mountainside_made

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page