top of page

culture// EMILY DEARHEART


​​

She's classy, never trashy. She's cute and sexy. Her hair and makeup are always perfect. She selects the best outfits and works with great photographers. THAT is a great model to me. If it all doesn't come together, it equals trash, but she equals treasure.

She always gives something for the boys, gives something for the girls and can even be admired by young girls. Work all this together and I see a smart gal...a smart gal with an accessories line you'll definitely want to see. For now, we talked to Emily, and this is what she had to say...

Tell us about yourself (past/present):

I have always been an artist. From the age I could create I was always coming up with wild art projects and entertaining. My fondest memories as a child was "producing" fashion shows for my family in our living room and pretty much forcing my entire neighborhood (or anyone that I could drag into my house) to watch me sing and dance and twirl around in wild outfits I would put together. From the start, I was highly influenced by fashion and the entertainment world. I loved singing and putting on "shows"... to this day it is, and always will be, my number one love. The idea of creating something from just an idea is fascinating or me and keeps me intrigued at the mystery of what I can do next. The possibilities are endless. I have carried over this way of thinking as a child into my daily life today. I chose to become a makeup artist 10 years ago and have been working in the industry ever since. For me, I cannot just choose one way to be creative, I need multiple outlets to be fulfilled as an artist. I have an accessory line, a clothing line in the works, as well as being a makeup artist and styling shoots. I find myself art directing shoots when I am modeling and styling shoots as well. I have a vision and am very specific with how I want my art (no matter what medium) to be portrayed. I am extremely lucky to be able to do it for a living.

How did you get into modeling? What was your first shoot?

I got into professional modeling by reading Seventeen Magazine when I was 11! Before that, I would do small projects as a child for companies in my hometown for fun. I remember writing Seventeen and asking them how to get into their magazine. I saw these beautiful models and thought " I can totally do that!"

After not hearing back, I decided to have my mom look into agencies and signed with my first one at 13. My first shoot came right after I was signed. I shot for my agencies ad that was printed in the newspaper. After that, I started doing a lot of print work. The alternative modeling didn't come until later for me. I had always wanted to be a high fashion/ editorial model, but being 5 ft 8, NYC and the larger markets (where they wanted to start me) wasn't accepting of my height for runway. So I decided that alt modeling was the way to go in my modeling career after I started getting tattooed. Now the industry is booming and I am so excited to be a part of it.

You always keep your look fresh. What inspires you? Thank you! I can completely thank my hairstylist Graham Nation for always keeping my hair fresh and color on point. I am so thankful to have such a talented team to back me, and that I work with. I am very specific about who I work with. I am so thankful to have the best of the best working with me. I am inspired by everything! I can't chose one thing. It can be anything from an image in my mind, to a photo of a doll. Anything that makes me think of beauty, thinking outside of the box (as cliche as it sounds) inspires me.

Your most memorable shoot:

I am the type of model and designer that wants, and needs, to have every shoot be memorable. I work very closely with Graham Nation to come up with set ideas (he is also a stylist), hair, makeup, wardrobe, and set design to make sure we always come up with innovative ideas. I think the most memorable shoot and closest to my heart is actually a studio shoot we did last year for my line of accessories "look book" SS 13. We shot my entire line, and I saw all of my designs on the most incredible models I could find, it was an extremely emotional and proud moment. It felt surreal. It was one of those moments where I stood back and knew my life was continuing to go down an incredible path... and that I had so much to be inspired by and thankful for. Hard work and dedication pays off.

Who would you like to model for? Whose clothing/brand would you love to wear?

Since the start of my modeling and designing career, Betsey Johnson and Alexander McQueen have been such incredible influences on my line. Their mix of crazy outlandish design that makes you question all you have seen before, to the way they push the envelope with their innovative ideas and sense of unapologetic confidence. A screw you attitude, "if you don't like it", has always been my way of designing also. I will forever have a piece of my heart dedicated to them both.

Tell us about your own projects:

My projects are growing by the day it seems! I have a website under way for my accessory line, many exciting photo shoots (names to be announced soon) and I am learning to taxidermy, and not just stage it (naturally deceased animals only). I am continuing to develop and create my Emily Dear Heart empire slowly but surely:) Stay tuned for everything!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page