top of page

fashion// Helldorado Brand


​​

If someone were to ask me about Dustin Desmarais, I'd have to say that he's are REAL guy. He doesn't care what others are doing or thinking, he's grounded, loyal, a great friend, trustworthy and a funny and talented dude.

Since we first met, I've felt like we've known him forever. The kind of friendship where, if he calls at 2am you're okay with it because, shit, you were up working too! Ha!

We've become big supporters of Helldorado Brand not just because of Dustin, but because it's just an awesome straight forward brand. His designs are great and he really has something for everyone. So here's alittle in his own words about himself and Helldorado....

1) Give us some background on who you are and where you're from:

I was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada and then lived in the Vancouver area until 13. Our family then moved to Carlsbad, CA where I’ve been ever since.

2) How do you feel that your background translates into the Helldorado Brand?

Growing up in Southern California is the major influence on Helldorado. Surfing, skating, cars, bikes and punk rock is what the brand is all about and So Cal is where most of that stuff started. I never fit into one scene, I had too many things I liked to be pigeon-holed into one group or another and to me that’s Helldorado in a nut shell. We’re not a greaser brand, or a surf brand, we represent all the cool things around us.

3) Your designs are very creative and diverse - where do you get your inspiration from?

I’d say most of the designs and directions just come from living the lifestyle Helldorado is about. I have a chopped shoebox Ford as well as a '64 El Camino that I bomb around in when I can. I have friends in bands, fabricators and artists that inspire me. I’d say 90% of my productive work time is after 10:00p.m - everyone’s asleep, the phone’s not ringing, it’s just me with pen and paper or the computer.

4) You don't just design for yourself - you've collaborated with brands like Hippy Killer (and us). Is that something you enjoy doing?

I’ve worked with you guys and Hippy Killer like you mentioned as well as In4mation in Hawaii, S&M bikes and Hot Rod Havoc to name a few. I dig working with accounts or other brands because my background has been working in the surf/skate industry for the past 20+ years and I don’t mind at all if someone has an idea that they want me to put my spin on.

5) What's coming up for Helldorado Brand?

We are always progressing and trying our best to improve everyday. We are developing some American made board shorts that will be out for summer, we are so pumped to find the right manufacturer locally and keep jobs in the US, I wish others would do the same. We are also getting pretty serious about having our own Helldorado retail store so we can have a hub to throw art and car shows as well as bands. I think we have a cool following of local people that get our vibe so it seems like a natural thing to try and do. Our international business is going well and we’re always on the lookout for the right stores to carry Helldorado domestically.

It’s tough for the little guy that isn’t backed with a ton of dough or bought by a big brand, we’ve been building Helldorado for 11 years now slowly but surely, there’s no end in sight and we’re always progressing with the support of our friends.

6) If someone is interested in working with you, what is the best way to contact you?

I still work with others all the time, I dig different projects that come my way because it somehow helps with Helldorado. I think working on one thing over and over kills creativity so doing multiple things at once keeps my mojo happy. Potential clients can hit me up at: vondust@helldoradobrand.com

www.helldoradobrand.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page