top of page

culture// Chase Wilson, the man behind BYRD Hair

Byrd Hair is moving up the ranks in the world of men's grooming. A company started by Huntington Beach native and pro surfer, Chase Wilson. We recently were able to talk to him about his company and the ideology behind it.

Tell our readers about yourself what do you do:

I'm Chase Wilson. I'm 24 years old, grew up in Newport Beach, Calif. and I'm the founder of BYRD Hairdo Products.

What made you want to start Byrd Hair?

I was tired of never having the exact product that I wanted for my hair. I tried so many different types of pomades and most would either take days to wash out or sting my eyes when I'd go surf so I set out to create the best pomade that catered to my lifestyle of being a globetrotting surfer exposed to the sun, salt and surf everyday. My great grandfather had a barbershop and traveled the country selling his own hair tonic so I like to say BYRD’s a modern spin on the family business!

How does surfing inspire Byrd?

Since I was 14, I lived and breathed surfing. It was everything to me. I've always been nostalgic for California surf culture in the 1950s & ‘60s so I think that really plays into the art direction and roots of the brand. Even down to our products for instance, they aren’t tested in a factory, they're all tried and tested by myself and members of The Flock (our team of surfers/brand ambassadors).

When you started Byrd, did you expect the response you've been receiving?

It's humbling to look back at where it started in 2012 with our Classic Pomade and stokes me to see BYRD's evolution into a slew of new products. BYRD has organically evolved into a lifestyle brand and our next step is world domination.

Tell me about the Byrd’s Nest?

The BYRD's Nest is our creative hub nestled in the heart of Culver City. It's so many things: an office, private barbershop, event space for like minded brands and a home base for our world traveling Flock members.

The new advertising video's you have been doing are interestingly laced with abstract concepts. What influence the creativity behind them?

As a brand, we take pride in designing products for the “Gentleman Surfer.” Literally everything we create, whether it is an advertising clip or new shampoo, we keep this inspiration top of mind. It's our job to promote the importance of grooming and taking that extra step to look slick, so our campaigns reflect that mission.

You’re goinf to a desert island and you can bring one person and 3 things. Who do you take and what do you bring?

A babe, board, beer, and BYRD.

Any words of inspiration to someone wanting to start their own company?

Don't be subject to conventional thinking. Have a clear vision and surround yourself with positive people who are invested in that vision. No one will work as hard as you for your own brand.

Where can we pick up Byrd hair pomade?

You can get any of our BYRD products online at byrdhair.com and in retailers such as WetSand Surf Shop in Ventura, Rudy’s Barbershop and Urban Outfitters. To find your local retailer, check out our retailer locator on our site.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page